Orlando, Fla. – On October 4, 2018 the Florida Hospital Association (FHA) installed its 2018-19 Board of Trustees at its annual meeting in Orlando. Roger L. Kirk, CEO of Bethesda Health, now part of Baptist Health South Florida, was elected to serve as chairman of the board. He succeeds Jack Kolosky, Executive VP, COO, President, Hospital Corporation, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center.

“It is an honor  to serve as chair of FHA. I believe strongly in our mission to advocate for good health policy on behalf of our 211 hospitals and health systems across Florida,” said Kirk. “In the year ahead, we will continue to focus on clinical performance improvement healthcare policies that increase access to high quality, affordable health care.”

Over the next year, the FHA Board will continue to lead hospital patient safety efforts through the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Hospital Improvement Innovation Networks (HIIN). Through 2019, participating hospitals will work to decrease patient harm by 20 percent and reduce hospital readmissions by 12 percent.

“We are delighted to welcome Roger as FHA Board chairman,” said FHA President Bruce Rueben. “He is a respected healthcare leader with a great track record. We look forward to working closely with him on issues that further Florida hospitals’ mission to care.”


New and returning board members are:


Executive Officers

Chairman: Roger L. Kirk, CEO, Bethesda Health – Baptist Health South Florida

Vice Chair/Chairman-Elect: Aurelio Fernandez, President/CEO, Memorial Healthcare System

Treasurer: Steven P. Johnson, President/CEO, Health First

Secretary: Bruce Rueben, President, Florida Hospital Association

Immediate Past Chairman: Jack Kolosky, Executive VP, COO, President, Hospital Corporation, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center



Larry Antonucci, MD, President/CEO, Lee Health

Wael Barsoum, MD, President/CEO, Cleveland Clinic Florida

Dana Bledsoe, President, Nemours Children’s Hospital

Kevin Conn, Regional Vice President of Operations, HealthSouth Sunrise Rehabilitation Hospital

John Couris, President/CEO, Tampa General Hospital

Jeff Feasel, President /CEO, Halifax Health

Tommy Inzina, President/CEO, BayCare Health System

Rob Lord, Jr., President/CEO, Martin Health System

Mark O’Bryant, President/CEO, Tallahassee Memorial Healthcare

Steve Sonenreich, President/CEO, Mount Sinai Medical Center

David Strong, President/CEO, Orlando Health

Elaine Thompson, PhD, President/CEO, Lakeland Regional Health

Daryl Tol, President/CEO, Florida Hospital & Central Division – Adventist Health System

Tom VanOsdol, President/CEO, St. Vincent’s HealthCare

Allen S. Weiss, MD, President/CEO, NCH Healthcare System

R.D. Williams, CEO, Hendry Regional Medical Center




About the Florida Hospital Association

Florida Hospital Association comprises over 200 hospitals and health systems from across the state. Through representation and advocacy, education, and informational services, we support the mission of our members to provide the highest quality of care to the patients we serve. For more information, visit www.fha.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.